With the launch of Multiple Environments, you can now continue test your MicroApp's even after it is live in production without affecting your Live Users. There are 3 MicroApp environments in Studio -

  1. Prod
  2. Beta
  3. Dev (Preview only)

You can publish your MicroApp in either Beta or Prod Environment as shown below.

Prod

If you publish you MicroApp in Prod Environment then your App's updates are received by all live users of your MicroApp. All MicroApps published by default are published in this Environment.

Beta

Beta is a new option introduced when you publish your MicroApp. If you chose to Publish App in Beta environment, then only the Beta users will be able to receive this App update. For more information of assignment of Beta users can refer below

Dev

Dev environment is the Test environment in which can access your App in Preview and also run your Workflows in Dev (Submit On) option

Environment change option in Preview to right as shown above.

Assigning Beta Users

You can assign Beta User by opening Config option inside your particular MicroApp builder page and selecting Users option. Under Users, you can Search for Users, Add or Remove users from Beta Environment as shown below

Workflows

All tasks except Input task can be run in Dev environment, however you may want to skip some Workflow tasks such as external Live Api's to be run from Dev or Beta environment. This can be done using additional section in workflow tasks called ENVIRONMENTS TO EXECUTE IN as shown below

You can choose to add or remove environments depending on your needs.

Sheets

Depending on the Sheets Permission, user can view Prod, Beta and Dev filter in sheets. Depending on which filter is selected, corresponding Sheets data can be viewed. Also, LOOKUP of data will happen based on MicroApps Environment. SO if Prod Env is selected in Preview then only data from the Prod filter will be seen in the App, same applies to Beta and Dev environment.

Data in corresponding filter can be added Manually or when their respective Workflow is executed. For example - A Workflow task which inserts a new row in a Sheet is triggered from Prod Published MicroApp than data will be inserted into Prod filter which is the Live data. Similarly, if Beta Published MicroApp is triggering this workflow than data will be inserted into Beta filter. And If this workflow task is triggered from Preview using Dev (Submit On) option selected than data will be inserted in Dev filter.

Columns Added/Created when Prod columns is selected, cannot be edited from Beta or Dev filter. This is because of keeping Sheet permission in mind which is covered below. However, Columns created from Beta filter selected can be edited from Prod filter. More on this is explained in Sheet Permission section explained below.

Sheet Permission

Sheet owner can set Sheet Permission as to who can access this Sheet. This can be set by clicking on the below icon next to the Sheet Name under Sheets Tab in Studio.

We already had Can Edit and View Only permission that can be assigned to User for accessing the sheet. Additionally, the Sheet Owner has an option to give Can Edit and View Only permission to Beta environment as well. By default the Can Edit or View Only permission will be assigned to Live / Prod Environment

Individual share access will override all general access type. Depending on the access given, different users will have different permission to access sheet. Below is the list of Permission and its Access rights explained -

  1. Live Environment - Can Edit
    User can View and Edit - Prod, Beta and Dev Filter data in Sheet
  2. Live Environment - View Only
    User can Only View Prod filter data in Sheet but cannot Edit any data or columns Also, User can View and Edit - Beta and Dev Filter data in Sheet
  3. Beta Environment - Can Edit
    User cannot view Prod filter data but can View and Edit - Beta and Dev Filter data in Sheet
  4. Beta Environment - View Only
    User cannot view Prod filter data but can Only View Beta filter data in Sheet but cannot Edit any data or columns. Also, Use can View and Edit - Dev Filter data in Sheet
  5. No Access
    User cannot open this sheet

Basically, All users who have access to this sheet has full access to Dev filter whereas Prod and Beta filter access can be configured by above settings.

MicroApp

If User is assigned multiple environment of MicroApp then on clicking the MicroApp icon in DronaHQ Container App (Android, iOS, Web), you will see the selection of Environment which you want to open as shown below.

Workflow Analytics

Workflow Analytics for different environments is same as that it was Previously available with Addition that you will see App environment option along with App version. There is also a Preview (dev) filter option that you can apply to view analytics of Workflow submitted from Preview. Analytics of Preview (Dev) version will always show up current tasks which are present in your workflow. So incase, you delete a task then that information that will be lost for Dev environment since purpose of Dev environment is to test the recent / current app version.

Did this answer your question?